Siperly named Outstanding Student

J.R. Siperly
J.R. Siperly, ASCC President

Congratulations to J.R. Siperly, Centralia College’s student body president, on receiving the Outstanding Two Year Student award at the National Association for Campus Activities West Regional Conference in Portland Nov. 15-16.

The award recognizes Siperly’s dedication to the campus, strong organizational skills, and leadership.

Siperly’s strong work ethic and passion for community are traits he credits to his adoptive parents Bruce and Sandra Siperly.

“My parents are the driving force to my success at college and in life,” Siperly said. “They are always in my corner and have made me the person I am today. I will always be grateful for the life they’ve given me.”

Siperly didn’t have an easy start. His biological parents suffered with addiction, bringing on health problems for Siperly as an infant, which led to learning difficulties as he grew up. He was placed in special education classes, but, with the support of his parents and his teachers, he was able to enter mainstream classes in eighth grade.

“I always struggled with math, but my teachers looked for creative ways to help me,” Siperly said. “Professor (Roberta) Ziegler (math) at the college has that easy-going nature that helps me to relax and I’m able to do better on tests.”

Siperly, an Eagle Scout who previously served as student body president of Adna High School, chose Centralia College because of the leadership opportunities available. He wasted no time making his mark, running for and being elected student body president twice.

“I’m proud of the work I’ve done and grateful for the opportunities that being student body president provides,” Siperly said. “It’s a lot of hard work and I’m learning a lot. I could not have accomplished nearly as much without the support of my parents and Shelley Bannish (director of Student Life and Involvement).”

Leave a Reply

